Diamond guide

In addition to clarity and color, the cut and dimensions are also decisive for the value of a diamond, as these properties influence the light, brilliance and sparkle of a diamond.

Diamanten Formen

Die 4 C’s


The brilliant or round cut is the most popular. However, there are also other popular cuts such as oval, emerald, pear, princess, heart or marquise. Regardless of the cut selected, the most important factor is that the cut is perfect. If the cut does not meet the standards, it will negatively affect the diamond’s value.

Diamanten Schliff


The weight and size of a diamond are measured in carats. One carat corresponds to 0.2 grams; there are 100 points per carat (or 200mg). The determined weight is usually given on certificates with up to two places after the comma.

Diamanten Karat


Most diamonds vary from colorless to yellow. To determine the color of a diamond, the stone to be graded is compared to a number of internationally recognized and defined diamonds, the colors of which range from D (colorless) to Z.

Colorless diamonds in categories D to H are particularly valuable. However, diamonds can also have other colors: the most expressive of these colors are classified as “fancy”.

Diamanten Farben


To classify the clarity of a diamond, the number and type of inclusions must be determined, as well as their size and location.

This examination is carried out in a laboratory by an experienced gemologist (precious stone expert). A flawless diamond is one that is free of internal marks or inclusions when magnified ten times under a diamond loupe.

Diamanten Reinheit

ZERTIFIKAT – das 5te C

The fifth and most important quality criterion is certified expertise.

Expert reports are created objectively and depending on the quality of a diamond, as the quality depends on physical measurable values ​​and properties. The value of a diamond is drastically reduced without these internationally recognized certificates.

Below you can see a GIA example certificate:

GIA Zertifikat